department of neurology  
Columbia University Medical Center | Department of Neurology
» close window
One of America's Top Doctors:

Hiroshi Mitsumoto, MD
Wesley J. Howe Professor of Neurology
Director, Eleanor and Lou Gehrig MDA/ALS Research Center


  • MD: Toho University of Japan
  • Internship: Baltimore City Hospital at Johns Hopkins
  • Residency: (Neurology) Case Western Reserve
  • Fellowship: (Neuromuscular) Tufts New England Medical Center
Board Certification:
American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (Neurology)

Insurance: Aetna, CIGNA, Empire BC/BS-Wellchoice & Unicare, Oxford, United Healthcare, 1199, Medicare, Medicaid
*Please verify insurance participation with the physician's office when making an appointment.

» ALS and Neuromuscular Disorders

» Recent Publications

Dr. Hiroshi Mitsumoto is the Wesley J. Howe Professor of Neurology at Columbia University at The Neurological Institute of New York, The New York-Presbyterian Hospital at Columbia University Medical Center. Previously he was on the faculty of the Cleveland Clinic Foundation where he served as Director of the ALS Center.

A graduate of Toho University School of Medicine in Japan, he completed his internship at Baltimore City Hospital at Johns Hopkins, residency training in Neurology at Case Western Reserve, as well as a neuromuscular fellowship training at Tufts New England Medical Center. Dr. Mitsumoto has devoted his clinical and research effort to the investigation of ALS in both animal models and clinical trials in patients with ALS. He is presently conducting an NIH study of Disease Markers in ALS. Dr. Mitsumoto has published and lectured, nationally and internationally extensively on the topic of ALS. He served as a member of Steering Committee of several clinical trials in ALS. He received the Donald C. Mulder Award for achievement, leadership, and dedication in ALS from ALS Association in 1996, in 1998 he became the 5th recipient of the Forbes Norris Award from the International Alliance of ALS/MND Associations for his "compassion and love of humanity in the study, management or support of ALS/MND, and in 2000 he received the Lou Gehrig Memorial Award from the MDA. He served as Chair of the ALSA Medical Advisory Board until 1999 and now is a member of the MDA Medical Advisory Board, ALS CARE Board of Directors, and Neurology editorial board.

Doctors, Department of Neurology
© 2012 The Neurological Institute of New York • 710 W 168th St, New York, NY 10032
Department of Neurology | Columbia University Medical Center | Last updated: December 4, 2012 | Comments
Neurology Columbia University Medical Center